Conception Journey…The first stages

This post follows on from here .

The first stages of baby making are easy peasy. A doddle. The sex is fun, you are both so incredibly excited about the possibility of getting pregnant, it’s just such a wonderful time. Other than the restrictions of your monthly period, there’s no stress, worries or even calendar consulting. We were so pleased with the decision we’d made to step forward with our plans for a family, it buoyed us through a good many months of trying.

And that’s how it should be, right? A promising, exciting time. When you should let Mother Nature do her work, while having loads of incredible sex along the way. It’s one of the most natural things in the world, a primal instinct to bring another life into the world, to create a family. And should you be lucky, you will be blessed with a baby, in due course. And that’s what we believed, we hoped and we wanted. It will happen, give it time. Don’t worry darling, we’ve only been trying for six months!

I’m a doer in life. Once I’ve made a decision on something, I crack straight on with it. No messing around, let’s get it done. So once we were at the winter of late 2012, I thought maybe I should do a bit of research on ovulation, and the best time in your cycle to get pregnant. I’d already got a great app on my phone which I always tracked my cycles with, but Clare recommended trying the iPeriod app as this also predicted your ovulation dates, and also had a monthly breast checker reminder. So I put in my data, and was intrigued by the dates it was suggesting would be the best time to get pregnant. I still use this app now.  I also read about your body temperature changing after ovulation, so I went a bought a little thermometer, and religiously took my temp at the same time every day, noting it my app.

We focussed our baby making time around the ‘green week’ as it’s called on the app, making sure we were trying at least every other day. I was taking my temp, but wasn’t really noticing a spike around my so called ovulation days. I did a bit of research online and boy, did I get scared. Not a good idea, FYI. The forums I found were filled with so called experts on ovulation spouting facts and tips like they were gospel. Luckily, I have a pretty sensible head on my shoulders, so I avoided the forums and went to professional sites to see if I could get any advice. The temperature recording was something they recommended doing, although they all talked about the Body Basal Temperature, which I wasn’t convinced I was doing properly with mine. A lot of them recommended trying ovulation kits as well as the temperature charting.

Off to Boots I went, and found they offered two ovulation kits, the Boots own brand (£10 approx) and the Clearblue one (£16 approx). I opted for the Boots own brand, it contained around 7 tests, thinking I’d only need them for a couple of months, and then I could always try the more expensive one if I wanted.  I read the instructions, understood what I needed to do, and when I needed to do it, and waited for the right time in my cycle to start the test.

Around 11 days into my cycle, I decided to do the test. Of COURSE it fell on a work day. The test involves peeing on a stick, leaving it 5 minutes and then going to see what the results say. I work in an incredibly small office, and not only was it difficult to smuggle the test into the loo without anyone seeing, I then had to go back in the loo five minutes later to see what the score was. I felt SO self concious. In all honesty, the guys who I work with were paying zero attention to me, and even if they were, wouldn’t have a clue what was going on anyway.

So there you have it, my first ovulation test was done. How had I gotten to this point? I was so convinced it would just happen for us, it was a struggle for me to think that maybe we needed a bit of help. Oh, how little I knew.

Suzy Signature

One thought on “Conception Journey…The first stages

  1. Pingback: Conception Journey…Trials and Tribulations | Blossom To Flourish

Please leave us a comment

